Elvis Costello fans I need your help!

Pretty self-explanatory
davetastic

Elvis Costello fans I need your help!

Post by davetastic »

A good friend of mine passed away last week. He was a huge Elvis Costello fan. I got assigned the responsibility of choosing the music that will be played at his funeral day after tomorrow. I want to play some Elvis Costello music, as that was his favorite artist, but I'm not sure what song to pick. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Jack of All Parades

Re: Elvis Costello fans I need your help!

Post by Jack of All Parades »

Sorry for your loss-not to be presumptuous as I have no knowledge of your friend or his particular affinity for EC-I would offer "Almost Blue" as a suggestion-with the caveat that it may produce more tears than will already be flowing at your friend's funeral. Again, my condolences for your friend's passing.
"....there's a merry song that starts in 'I' and ends in 'You', as many famous pop songs do....'
Ypsilanti

Post by Ypsilanti »

What a sad task you have before you--choosing music for a friend's funeral. I'm very sorry for your loss.

My suggestion is "The Birds Will Still Be Singing". It's a beautiful song and very appropriate for a funeral. In fact, I once read an interview with Elvis' father in which he named this as his favorite of all his son's songs and said he wanted it for his own funeral. That's a pretty strong endorsement.
So I keep this fancy to myself
I keep my lipstick twisted tight
Ypsilanti

Post by Ypsilanti »

It occurs to me that other good choices might include "The Favorite Hour" and Elvis' cover of "Lost in the Stars". I'm also thinking of "That Day is Done", which Elvis wrote on the occasion of his Grandmother's death. In a more more Rock & Roll-ish vein, "Song with Rose" is very nice, the lyrics speaking of the wish to meet a loved one in the afterlife. One to avoid (because it's just too unbearably sad) is Elvis' cover of "Gloomy Sunday".